# Action Alert – Support the GO Pass and Transit Make It Work Milwaukee Coalition and Milwaukee Mental Health Task Force

October 6, 2016

The Milwaukee County GO Pass has been a lifeline for thousands of Milwaukee County residents with disabilities and older adults. It has supported independent living in the community by providing access to transportation to meet basic needs, get to work, go to medical appointments, support groups, attend classes, worship, and participate in community programs such as senior centers and Grand Avenue Club.

Because the County's Transportation budget faced a large deficit and MCTS proposed eliminating the GO Pass, our coalitions worked with the Administration to develop a compromise to continue the GO Pass. The 2017 Milwaukee County budget proposes continuing the GO Pass but with some changes:

- Go Pass recipients over 65 must be receiving Medicaid or Foodshare benefits.
- Residents under 65 must receive SSI, SSDI, Veterans Disability benefits, EBD Medicaid, long term care-Medicaid, or participate in a Medicare Savings Program (QMB, SLMB or SLMB+).
- For individuals not currently enrolled in benefits, the Aging and Disability Resource Centers will assist with benefits counselling and a provisional GO Pass can be issued.
- GO Pass applicants will be charged a \$5 fee to issue the pass, and 25 cents per ride.

An implementation work group will be established to plan for this transition.

## Next Steps to Support the GO Pass and Transit Funding

The budget is being reviewed by the Milwaukee County Board Finance and Audit Committee. Please contact supervisors and ask them to support the GO Pass and support transit funding. Share your story of why the GO Pass is important to you

- 1. Send letters of support for the Go Pass and Transit to Finance Committee members, and to your own supervisor. The Finance committee members are: **Finance and Audit:** Peggy A. West, Chair **Committee Members:** Sheldon A. Wasserman, Vice Chair, Michael Mayo, Sr., Willie Johnson, Jr., Jason Haas, Supreme Moore Omokunde, Sequanna Taylor. Letters should be sent NOW. Your letter should explain the benefit of the GO Pass and express support for both the GO Pass and transit. See contact information on the back.
- 2. The Finance Committee is scheduled to review the Transportation budget Friday morning October 14th at the County Courthouse, 901 N. 9<sup>th</sup> St., room 203 R. The meeting will include time for public comment. Plan to attend and fill out a card to speak and to support the GO Pass and Transit.
- 3. Submit a letter to the editor or post support on Facebook or other sites. Letters are limited to 200 words. Include your name, address and daytime phone. Email <a href="mailto:jsedit@journalsentinel.com">jsedit@journalsentinel.com</a> or write to Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, P.O. Box 371, Milwaukee, WI 53201
- **4.** Attend a public hearing and speak in support of the value of the GO pass and transit funding. County Board public hearings are as follows:

#### Finance and Audit Committee Public Hearing on Budget

10/18/2016 at 9 AM

Milwaukee Public Schools Central Services Building 5225 W. Vliet Street Milwaukee, WI 53208

#### Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors Annual Public Hearing on the Budget

October 31, 2016 6 PM Doors open at 5:30 PM Marcus Center for the Performing Arts 929 N. Water St. Free parking in Marcus Center structure, One block north of the Marcus Center, between E. State St. and E. Highland Ave.

### Milwaukee County Elected Officials - Contact Information - 8/2016

County Executive Chris Abele 901 N. 9th Street Courthouse, Room 306 Milwaukee, WI 53233-1458 414-278-4211 /Fax: 414-223-1375 Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors Milwaukee County Courthouse 901 North 9th Street, RM 201 Milwaukee, WI 53233

414-278-4211 /Fax: 414-223-1375 Phone: 414-278-4222 Fax: 414-278-1380 countyexec@milwaukeecountywi.gov

Note: If you are not sure who your supervisor is, go to <a href="http://county.milwaukee.gov/FindSupervisor">http://county.milwaukee.gov/FindSupervisor</a>

District	Supervisor	Phone	E-mail
1.	Theodore Lipscomb	278-4280	theodore.lipscomb@milwaukeecountywi.gov
2.	Sequanna Taylor	278-4278	sequanna.taylor@milwaukeecountywi.gov
3.	Sheldon Wasserman	278-4237	sheldon.wasserman@milwaukeecountywi.gov
4.	Marina Dimitrijevic	278-4232	marina.dimitrijevic@milwaukeecountywi.gov
5.	Marcelia Nicholson	278-4261	marcelia.nicholson@milwaukeecountywi.gov
6.	Luigi Schmitt	278-4273	james.schmitt@milwaukeecountywi.gov
7.	Michael Mayo Sr.	278-4241	michael.mayo@milwaukeecountywi.gov
8.	David Sartori	278-4231	david.l.sartori@milwaukeecountywi.gov
9.	Steve Taylor	278-4232	steve.taylor@milwaukeecountywi.gov
10.	Supreme Moore Omokunde	278-4222	supreme.mooreomokunde@milwaukeecountywi.gov
11.	Dan Sebring	278-4253	dan.sebring@milwaukeecountywi.gov
12.	Peggy West	278-4269	peggy.west@milwaukeecountywi.gov
13.	Willie Johnson Jr.	278-4233	willie.johnson@milwaukeecountywi.gov
14.	Jason Haas	278-4252	Jason.haas@milwaukeecountywi.gov
15.	Eddie Cullen	278-4222	Eddie.cullen@milwaukeecountywi.gov
16.	John Weishan, Jr.	278-4255	john.weishan@milwaukeecountywi.gov
17.	Anthony Staskunas	278-4247	anthony.staskunas@milwaukeecountywi.gov
18.	Deanna Alexander	278-4259	deanna.alexander@milwaukeecountywi.gov

**Finance and Audit:** Peggy A. West, Chair **Committee Members:** Sheldon A. Wasserman, Vice Chair, Michael Mayo, Sr., Willie Johnson, Jr., Jason Haas, Supreme Moore Omokunde, Sequanna Taylor

**Transportation, Public Works and Transit:** Michael Mayo, Sr., Chair **Committee Members:** John F. Weishan, Jr., Vice Chair, Marina Dimitrijevic, David L. Sartori, Dan Sebring

**Health and Human Needs:** Supreme Moore Omokunde, Chair **Committee Members:** Sequanna Taylor, Vice Chair, Marina Dimitrijevic, Deanna Alexander, Anthony Staskunas